Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum  

Go Back   Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum > Bristol Forums > Wanted - anything Bristol car related

Wanted - Owners Views for University Design Project

Closed Thread

Old 27-01-10, 09:59 AM

Default Wanted - Owners Views for University Design Project

Hi,

I am a university student currently in the early stages of a final major project to design a new car for Bristol. In order to gain a greater understanding of the Bristol cars and their drivers, talking to current owners is a source of invaluable information.

As such, I was wondering if Bristol owners would be willing to fill out a questionnaire. I am specifically looking to gain insight into why you chose to own a Bristol, what first attracted you and how you became aware of the company, what you believe the marque stands for and if you think the values of the company have changed over the years, for better or worse (or perhaps if you believe they should have changed, but haven't).

If you would be interested in helping me, please send me a message, and I will send you an email which will include the questionnaire in a more user-friendly format.

Thank you very much and I look forward to hearing from you soon

Gordon Farquhar,

Transportation Design Year 4, Northumbria University
Old 27-01-10, 11:20 AM

Default Wanted - Owners Views for U...

Gordon,
Not an easy task, as the cars have changed over the years, but when I
bought mine 48 years ago it was light years ahead of anything else, and even now
is a car to be reckoned with.
In 1951 The Motor said, "The Bristol 401 possessed a combination of virtues
which may not be equalled by any other car."
L.J.K. Setright the journalist of great renown, having looked at every car
available found that there was only one car which stood out from all the
rest and that was a Bristol 2 litre, and he drove one most of his life. Find
a copy of his last book in a library, Long Lane with Turnings, and this