Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum  

Go Back   Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum > Non Bristol Forums > Other topics of interest

Other topics of interest Discussions about anything else, i.e motoring, trends, politics, even the EU!

LJK Setright

Old 12-10-09, 02:05 PM
Ex Member

Default LJK Setright

Well Ashley, I am very happy / pleased with your website efforts and your
generous help when needed. They have saved me much time and aggravation.

Dorien
Old 12-10-09, 02:32 PM
ex member

Default LJK Setright

Dorien

Thank you very much indeed for those kind words.

Ash
Old 12-10-09, 09:02 PM

Ashley,

I admit that I’m quite new to Setright’s writing. I do not question your integrity and I respect your experience with cars. But you do seem to expect others to fall into line with your opinion on LJKS, without really providing solid proof as to why. I feel that I have read nothing but slander so far.

Quote: I think he describes one race in a Bristol that was finished either with a hole in the sump or a rod through a block. Very unlikely I'd have thought.

Very unlikely I’d have thought is not proof, that is opinion. Come on now! I consider a man walking on the Moon very unlikely but I could not hope to disprove the Moon landings with nothing but vague cynicism!

Jonathan Wood has unearthed ‘new’ information on the 400. This is wonderful news, but if it really is new information, then how could Setright know of it? He’s been gone since 2005.

From what I have learned of Setright so far, yes, he held strong opinions, or ‘prejudices’ as you referred to them. Who doesn’t?! Strong opinions will always meet resistance. Because you and your colleague Dr Kimberley did not agree with those opinions does not make Setright wrong.