Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum  

Go Back   Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum > Bristol Forums > Bristol News & Other Bristol Discussion

Bristol News & Other Bristol Discussion About the company, clubs, car owners, and Bristol discussion not specific to the 6,8 or 10 cyl cars.

Bristol owners in America

Old 05-01-16, 04:35 PM

Default Bristol owners in America

Hello,

I am new to the world of Bristols. I am smitten by the cars and very seriously considering buying a 410 or 411. My problem is I've never seen one nor sat in one. I'm 6'2" and worry about comfort. I've had a number of cars of the era and this is an obvious and important consideration.

I was hoping to connect with an American owner to discuss the issues with owning such a rare care in the US. Please feel free to connect through this forum.

Happy New Year!!

Scott
Old 06-01-16, 03:10 AM

Default 6.2 headroom

Hi Scott,

The 410 and 411 and all other Bristols have excellent headroom. As you can see in this photograph, Tony Crook, the owner of Bristol Cars was at least your height if not taller and he was known for having tall, narrow cars - a bit like himself.

I find I can drive my Bristol 411 with a hat on, and I am 6 feet. The comfort is exceptional, provided the car is not thrashed. The car was said to have been designed for four men to enjoy a two-week continental holiday in comfort, which means good headroom, ample leather seats and a cavernous boot (trunk).