Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum  

Go Back   Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum > Bristol Forums > 8 & 10 cyl Bristol cars

8 & 10 cyl Bristol cars Type 407 onwards - restoration, repair, maintenance etc

411s5 tyres

Old 18-03-12, 12:32 AM

Default 411s5 tyres

Gentlemen! I have an embarrasing question.
I am running my 411 on Pirellis, 215/70 zr 15 tyres.

Which tyre pressure should I hafe Front / back?

I have now about 35 PSI on all 4.
Thanks
Old 18-03-12, 12:50 AM

Hi,

30 PSi all around is recommended and seems to strike the right balance.

As a side note I switched from Avon ZV3 tyres to Michelin Primacy and the transformation on grip and ride was quite something. I really can through the 412 around with a lot of confidence, certainly more than you would expect with a big old unit like a Bristol.

Does anyone else have experience of changes between makes. If we compared everyones experience we night be able to work out which tyres give the best overall performance with a little bit of boolean algebra.

P
Old 18-03-12, 03:52 AM

I had 30 psi on them, but the tures "scrubbed" the tarmac on roundabouts, specially the front.
Old 18-03-12, 11:39 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Janne View Post
I had 30 psi on them, but the tures "scrubbed" the tarmac on roundabouts, specially the front.
What do you mean but this?

There's nothing actually wrong with running 35 psi, but it may make for a harder ride.

Brian Marelli once told me to experiment with pressures between 28-32 psi.

What rims are you running on - the Avons of the Bristol steel rims?

My personal view is that 215 tyres are a bit too wide for the steel rims, but I think plenty of people use them. The Avon rims are wider.
Old 18-03-12, 02:29 PM

I have tha Avons on it.
Here on Islafnd, the roundabouts have a camber that slopes out. Sound crazy, it is craxy, but done so the water runs off during the trop. rains.