Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum  

Go Back   Bristol Cars - Owners and Enthusiasts Forum > Bristol Forums > 8 & 10 cyl Bristol cars

8 & 10 cyl Bristol cars Type 407 onwards - restoration, repair, maintenance etc

409 frt springs

Old 22-03-16, 04:57 PM

Default 409 frt springs

Does anybody have the specs for the frt springs as when new? Typically this would include free height and load in lbs under a specified compressed height.
If unavailable maybe someone would be kindly give me a height from the road to say the frt edge of the body panel at the center point in line with the hood emblem.
The car is definitely low in the front but I want to have a reference point before doing any work in that area.
Regards,
Anne
Old 22-03-16, 11:03 PM

Anne ,
I have had no direct experience with a 409 but expect it will be the same as the 411 .
The top of the 411 front coil springs are located in a tubular sleeve of the front cross member. Between the cross member and the spring there is polyurethane type spring pad which I assume softens the ride .

When I bought my 411 I though the springs had sagged but found the polyurethane spring pad had started to disintegrate which lowered the front of the car . I replaced the spring pad with aluminium which raised the car to the original height and did not effect the softness of the ride .
This was done about 25 years ago and the car is still sitting at the correct height , with the original springs .
It is worth checking it out before considering new or retempered springs

Geoff D
Old 23-03-16, 02:10 AM

Anne, see this post for what should be there http://www.bristolcars.info/forums/8...on.html#post83

My view is that you should replace the original parts, rather than using an aluminium spacer, assuming of course that they are still available from Bristol.

I have the full spring specs somewhere, because I had new ones made. I will dig them out as soon as I have some time.