View Single Post
Old 08-11-08, 10:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by potential View Post
I think this subject is worthy of a thread of its own. I don't have the experience you do with the cars but my understanding from what I'd read was that the engines were stripped down and 'blueprinted' - no parts changed from factory but rebuilt to aircraft engineering standards with all tolerances and torques at optimum and all the castings cleaned up. It's likely this is an optimistic view of what happened.
Firstly I should point out that I have no personal experience with the 5.2 litre engine used by Bristol. However, I think it would be reasonable to assume that Bristol did not “blueprint” Chrysler engines as you describe above, because the cost would have been prohibitive, (it would also be hard to blueprint an engine without replacing some parts). Nor do I think Bristol ever claimed to do this. It's more likely down to some ignorant journalist with an overactive imagination.

As author Rick Voegelin says, "Blueprinting is without question the most used - and most abused - term in engine building."

Quote:
Originally Posted by potential View Post
Has any mechanic or engineer who worked in Bristol ever talked?
Yes.

Denis Sevier, Bristol’s chief engineer gave a lecture at a Bristol Owners Club meeting in 1976. Mr Sevier apparently explained that when Bristol started using the Chrysler 5.2 litre engine from Canada they (Bristol) installed stronger valve springs, a higher lift cam shaft and a 4 barrel Carter carburetor (commonly referred to as the Power Pack option offered by Chrysler).

He said Bristol also designed a mod for the early Torqueflight transmission extension housing to replace a plain thrust washer with ball bearing race. This reduced heat build up in the bearing on long trips and the mod was adopted by Chrysler.